Missy Graces Elle’s Women in Music Issue

Missy Elliot, rapper/singer/songwriter/producer and fashion maven is the latest celebrity to feature the cover of Elle Magazine for their Women in Music issue. She wore eclectic fashions from Marc Jacob’s AW17 Hip-Hop inspired collection. Always one to push the limits of fashion, Missy wore her signature bucket hat, created by milliner Stephen Jones for Marc Jacobs but with a twist. The hat is made of chunky wool, hovering over her long, cascading tresses, and square oversized frames with her electric blue lips and hoop earrings.

This is not the first time she has worked with Jacobs. In 2016, he recreated her now infamous plastic bag look adorned with feathers across her back, for a campaign that featured other A-list stars. In her interview, Missy discusses not succumbing to pressures to fit in. “One thing I won’t do is compromise. I will never do something based on what everyone is telling me to do. I’ve been through so many stumbling blocks to build a legacy, so I wouldn’t want to do something just to fit in. Because I never fit in. So…”

The hip hop influencer also discusses the process involved with creating her iconic plastic bag look for her “The Rain” (Supa Dupa Fly) video. “To me, the outfit was a way to mask my shyness behind all the chaos of the look. Although I am shy, I was never afraid to be a provocative woman. The outfit was a symbol of power,” Elliott told the magazine. “I loved the idea of feeling like a hip-hop Michelin woman. I knew I could have on a blow-up suit and still have people talking. It was bold and different. I’ve always seen myself as an innovator and a creative unlike any other.”

It is refreshing to see Missy as the face of women in music, because she’s helped pave the way for other women to freely and confidently express themselves. We cannot wait to see what upcoming projects Missy is working on!

Read my original story for Level 21 Magazine here.

Leave a Reply

